Exit133 is about Tacoma

New Tacoma Awards Luncheon

July 11, 2014 at 11:30 am

TACOMA, Wash. – Businesses, organizations and individuals who make outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma were nominated as part of the annual New Tacoma Awards.

This year the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber, in coordination with Presenting Sponsor Tacoma Power’s Click! Network, Awards Sponsor Tags Awards & Specialties, and Floral Sponsor Blitz & Co., will honor nominees and recipients at the Chamber Luncheon on Friday, July 11, 2014 at the Pacific Grill Events Center, 1530 Pacific Avenue, Tacoma, Wash., 98402, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Reservations can be made online at tacomachamber.org.

The 2014 New Tacoma Awards nominees are:

The Ghilarducci Award recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification:

Community Health Care’s New Regional Health Center
Foss Waterway Seaport’s Rehabilitation
HHJ’s Rehabilitation of the Rector’s Building
Tacoma Post Office Building Rehabilitation
UWT Section of Prairie Line Trail

The Popham Award recognizing the individual that has done the most to build community spirit:

Dion Thomas of Gallery of Ambition
JD Elquist of The Elquists
Justin Mayfield of Downtown Block Party
Rusty George of Rusty George Creative

The Public Places Award recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space or right-of-way:

Alchemy Skate’s Go Skate Tacoma Day
City of Tacoma’s Pacific Avenue Streetscape
Downtown On the Go’s Walk Tacoma

The Schoenfeld Award recognizing exemplary performance and pizazz as a retailer or restaurateur:

Anthem Coffee
Creative Forces Gifts & Sundries
Endless Prints
Handlebar Cycling Studio
Harmon Brewing
Moss + Mineral
Savor Creperie

The Union Station Award recognizing organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization:

Children’s Museum of Tacoma
Downtown Merchants Group
Milt Tremblay of UWT


Pacific Grill Events Center
1530 Pacific Avenue
More Information

Potentially Similar Events